Yee Fei got married and has a baby

How is everyone doing?
皆さん、いかがお過ごしですか?

I have experienced a life-changing year in Kobe and want to share my joy with all of you.
私は神戸で人生の素晴らしい転機の年を経験しました。そして、この喜びを皆さんと分かち合いたいと思います。

I was married last October to Michael, my former classmate in elementary school. It was like a dream come true for me celebrating the event with our families and friends at the Tooth Tooth Garden Restaurant.
私は昨年10月、小学校の同級生だったマイケルと結婚しました。ツースツース・ガーデン・レストランで家族や友人たちと私たちの結婚式を祝えたのは、私にとって夢が実現しました。

Our wedding (私たちの結婚式)

Before our wedding, I thought I would have to return to Singapore after we got married. But in my heart, I knew I wasn’t ready to go back home, because I have become attached to Kobe over the years. So once again, it was a dream come true when Michael’s boss agreed to let him work from Kobe. Since then, we have been living in Suzurandai. I teach in a cosy café nearby, while he works at home.
結婚の前、私たちは結婚したらシンガポールに帰らないといけないと思っていました。しかし、心の中では、シンガポールに帰る用意ができていないのは分かっていました。なぜならここ何年かで神戸への愛着から逃れられなくなっていたからです。ですから、マイケルのシンガポールのボスが神戸での仕事に同意してくれたことは、私の夢がもう一度実現した、ということです。

それ以来、私たちは神戸市北区の鈴蘭台に住んでいます。マイケルが家で仕事をしている間、私は近くの心地よいカフェで教えています。

Christmas party at the café (カフェでのクリスマス・パーティー)

We were blessed with a baby girl this August. Her name is Lim Aiping, Hannah. Aiping means love and peace in Chinese. Giving birth in Kobe was an unforgettable experience. I was impressed by the professionalism of the medical staff at Tomura Ladies Clinic. The meals provided were simply fantastic!
今年の8月、私たちは女の子に恵まれました。彼女の名前はリム・アイピン(林愛平)ハナです。アイピンは中国語で愛と平和の意味です。神戸で長女を生んだことは忘れられない体験になりました。登村レディース・クリニックの医療スタッフのプロ根性には大変感銘を受けました。食事もとてもおいしかったです!

Hannah is born!  (ハナが生まれた!)

My mother was here during my confinement month. Now, Michael and I are on our own taking care of Hannah and the household chores. Many say that it is tiring taking care of a baby, but it has been our greatest joy watching her growing everyday. We have to add that the joy is multiplied when we see Hannah smile, gurgle and coo.
母は私の出産の間、神戸に来てくれました。今はマイケルと私でハナの面倒をみ、家事を分担しています。多くの人が赤ちゃんの世話は大変でしょうと言います。でも私たちにとって日ごとに成長するわが子を見ているのはとても楽しいことです。ハナが笑ったり、喉を鳴らしたり、クークーと話すと、もう何倍も嬉しくなります。

Our happy baby Hannah (私たちのハッピー・ベイビー、ハナ)

Many friends ask us about our future plans. We are not sure how long we will be in Japan, but we would love to have Hannah learn Japanese here. Hope she can join Temasek Language School when she grows up!
多くの友人が私たちの将来のことを聞きます。私たちにも日本にこれからどれくらいいるかは分かりません。でも、ハナには日本語を学ばせたいと思っています。彼女が大人になったらテマセックに入ることが私たちの望みです!

Leave a comment